Meeting Minutes Governmental Procedures and Structure Committee Taxation and Budget Reform Commission Senate Office Building, Room 37 Tallahassee, Florida Thursday, January 17, 2008 8:30 a.m. – Noon

(Committee Members: Alan Levine, Chair; Mike Hogan; Julia Johnson; Carlos Lacasa; Patricia Levesque; Jacinta Mathis; Nancy Riley; Darryl Rouson; Greg Turbeville; Ken Wilkinson; Brian Yablonski)

Commissioners Present:

Alan Levine, Chair Mike Hogan Julia Johnson Carlos Lacasa Patricia Levesque Jacinta Mathis Nancy Riley Darryl Rouson Greg Turbeville Ken Wilkinson Brian Yablonski

Chair Levine called the meeting to order at 8:41 a.m. Staff called the roll and announced the presence of a quorum.

Chair Levine stated that the order of the agenda would be altered slightly and that Commissioner Yablonski would present first.

Commissioner Yablonski explained Constitutional Proposal 0015 and entertained questions from committee members. In separate actions, the committee adopted, without objection, Amendment 1. Other amendments were withdrawn. Chair Levine asked if there was any public testimony. The following speakers appeared before the committee: Tim Breault, Prestun Robertson, Kevin Magory, and Janet Bowman.

On a motion by Commissioner Mathis, seconded by Commissioner Johnson, Constitutional Proposal 0015 was reported favorably by a unanimous vote (11-0). By a unanimous vote, the measure was made a Committee Substitute.

Commissioner Yablonski presented Constitutional Proposal 0016. In separate actions, the committee adopted, without objection, Amendment 1.

On a motion by Commissioner Mathis, seconded by Commissioner Johnson, Constitutional Proposal 0016 was reported favorably by a unanimous vote (11-0). By a unanimous vote, the measure was made a Committee Substitute.

Commissioner McKay explained Constitutional Proposal 0002 and entertained questions from committee members. The committee took up public testimony. The following speakers appeared before the committee: Mike Huey, John McKay, Robert Nabors, Ben Parks, Allen Douglas, Kenya Cory, Kabe Woods, David Denslow, Howard Adams, Jennifer Green, and Vicki Weber. In separate actions, the committee adopted, without objection, Amendments 1 and 2.

On a motion by Commissioner Wilkinson, Constitutional Proposal 0002 was reported favorably as amended (8-3).

Commissioner Levesque explained Constitutional Proposal 0020 and entertained questions from committee members. The committee took up public testimony. The following speakers appeared before the committee: Nathan Dunn, Kevin McGory, Reginald Mitchell, Sr., Ron Meyer, and Mike McCarron.

On a motion by Commissioner Mathis, seconded by Commissioner Johnson, Constitutional Proposal 0020 was reported favorably by a unanimous vote (10-0). By a unanimous vote, the measure was made a Committee Substitute.

It was determined that all other items on the agenda would be moved to the following meeting.

With no further business before the committee the meeting was adjourned at 12:38 p.m.