

TAXATION AND BUDGET REFORM COMMISSION

600 South Calhoun Street, Room 245, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300 Ph. (850) 921-8905 Suncom 291-8905 Fax (850) 921-0492 Website: www.floridatbrc.org

CHAIR Allan Bense

VICE CHAIR
James A. Scott

MEMBERS

Hoyt "Barney" Barnett Martha W. Barnett R. Mark Bostick Richard Corcoran Talbot "Sandy" D'Alemberte Mike Hogan Julia Johnson Bruce Kyle Carlos Lacasa Patricia Levesaue Roberto "Bobby" Martinez Jacinta Mathis John M. McKav Bob McKee Lesley J. "Les" Miller, Jr. Randy Miller Jade Thomas Moore Nancy J. Riley Darryl Rouson Susan Story Wm. Gregory "Greg" Turbeville Kenneth "Ken" Wilkinson Brian Yablonski

EX-OFICIO MEMBERS

Sen. Mike Haridopolos Sen. Gwen Margolis Rep. Dan Gelber. Rep. Ray Sansom

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Skelton
Executive Director
Kathy Torian
Deputy Executive Director
Tom Cibula
General Counsel/Policy
Ann Gordon
Senior Budget Analyst
Rob Shave
Research Analyst
Nancy Frier
Administrative Assistant
Chandra L. Godwin
Administrative Assistant

March 18, 2008

The Honorable Ken Pruitt
President
The Florida Senate
409 The Capitol
404 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
The Honorable Marco Rubio
Speaker
The Florida House of Representatives
420 The Capitol
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Dear President Pruitt and Speaker Rubio:

The Taxation and Budget Reform Commission hereby submits the Committee Substitute for Statutory Recommendation 29 for consideration by the Florida Legislature.

Article XI, section 6 of the Florida Constitution requires the Commission to conduct a review and to "propose to the legislature any recommended statutory changes related to the taxation or budgetary laws of the state." Consistent with this duty, the Commission approved the Committee Substitute for Statutory Recommendation 29 by a vote of 13-2 on March 7, 2008.

The statutory recommendation provides for the creation of a joint legislative committee to review sales tax exemptions. Exemptions for modification or repeal identified by the committee must be submitted to a vote of each house of the Legislature. The text and analysis of the recommendation are attached.

Please contact me or Susan Skelton, executive director, for additional information or assistance.

Sincerely,

Allan Bense, Chair

allen Bern

Enclosures

Cc: The Honorable Charlie Crist, Governor