

# **International Boundary Study**

No. 99 – May 1, 1970

# Algeria – Niger Boundary

(Country Codes: AG-NG)

The Geographer Office of the Geographer Bureau of Intelligence and Research

# INTERNATIONAL BOUNDARY STUDY

#### No. 99

# ALGERIA - NIGER BOUNDARY

### TABLE OF CONTENTS

## Page

I.	Brief	2
II.	Historical Background	2
III.	Treaties	3
IV.	Alignment	3
Мар	Map Appendix	

The Geographer Office of the Geographer Directorate for Functional Research Bureau of Intelligence and Research

#### ALGERIA - NIGER BOUNDARY

#### I. <u>BRIEF</u>

Located in the Sahara, the Algeria - Niger boundary is about 594 miles in length. Northeastward from the tripoint with Mali, it consists of three straight-line sectors of 109, 142, and 343 miles, respectively. The boundary is undemarcated and traverses sparsely populated areas.

#### II. HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

French forces occupied Algiers in 1830, and by 1847 most of northern Algeria was under the administration of France. In 1848 northern Algeria was proclaimed an integral part of France and was organized into three departments of Oran, Alger, and Constantine. Under a French law of December 24, 1902, the Sharan area, known as the Territoires du Sud Algerien, was annexed by France. However, the Territoires du Sud Algerien were administered separately from the departments of northern Algeria.

A French decree of December 20, 1900 created a third military territory in French West Africa known as the military territory of Niger with headquarters at Zinder. The military commander in charge of the territory was directly responsible to the Governor General of French West Africa, but civil matters were handled through the Governor General's civil delegate at Kayes. At this time Haut Senegal et Moyen Niger (Upper Senegal and Middle Niger) was a dependency of Senegal, and it also was administered by the Governor of Senegal through the civil delegate located at Kayes.

On October 1, 1902, a decree ended the procedure of the Governor of Senegal also being the ipso facto Governor General of French West Africa. Haut Senegal et Moyen Niger ceased to be a dependency of Senegal, and it was rename Senegambie et Niger (Senegambia and Niger). It was administered by a delegate of the Governor General resident at Kayes, but the Niger military territory was directly responsible to the Governor General for civil matters. A decree of October 18, 1904 changed the name of Senegamble et Niger to the colony of Haut Senegal et Niger and moved the capital to Bamako. On June 7, 1905, an agreement between the Commandant of Haut Senegal et Niger and the Military Commander of the Department de l'Oasis (part of Territoires du Sud Algerien) determined a boundary between Algeria and French West Africa (included boundaries with the present states of Mauritania, Mali, and Niger). In principle the boundary agreement of 1905 was completed by the Niamey Conventions of June 20, 1909 and August 16, 1909 (approved by a decision of the French President du Conseil on August 16, 1911). The Niger military territory was detached from the colony of Haut Senegal et Niger in 1911. Niger became a colony in 1922, and the colonial capital was moved to Niamey in 1926.

Following World War II, Niger was made an overseas territory in 1946 and became an autonomous member of the French Community in 1958. France granted Niger independence on August 3, 1960.

In 1947 the Algerian Statute altered the status of the Sharan territories (Ain-Sefra, Ghardaia, Touggourt, and Saharan Oases), which then were organized into departments. Ten years later the Saharan area was divided into the Department of Saoura (capital at Bechar) and the Department of Oasis (capital at Ouargla). Prior to 1960 the number of departments in northern Algeria were expanded gradually to 13. Pursuant to the Evian Agreements and subsequent plebiscites, Algeria became independent on July 5, 1962.

## III. <u>TREATIES</u>

The Niamey Convention of June 20, 1909 provides a general orientation only of the boundary between Algeria and Niger. For a more exact delimitation of the <u>de facto</u> boundary, French maps prepared by the Institut Geographique National afford details of the alignment.

The Algeria - Niger boundary is described in the amended text of the Niamey Convention as follows:

Leaving the Tin Zaouaten [Ti-n-Zaouatene] wadi, the boundary runs in a straight line<sup>1</sup> to the edge of the Tassili des Ahaggars [Tassili Oua-n Ahaggar] which is about 15 kilometers south of the In Guezzam [I-n-Guezzam] well; then it follows the southern slopes of the Tassili des Ahaggar to the Iziley [Anou Izilieg] well, which will remain in Algeria's possession. From there the boundary follows a straight line joining this well with the In Azaoua belonging to West Africa.

To the east of In Azaoua, the boundary follows a straight line linking In Azaoua to the point where the Tripoli border [Libya] cuts across the road from Ghat to Djibado [Djado] by way of In Ezzne [I-n-Ezzane].

# IV. <u>ALIGNMENT</u>

In accordance with the Niamey Convention of June 20, 1909 and French Institute Geographique maps, the Algeria - Niger boundary follows three straight-line sectors from west to east. The first sector extends from the tripoint with Mali at about 19° 08' 30" N. and 4° 14' 30" E. to the Agadez - Tamanrasset road at about 19° 26' 30" N. and 5° 48' 45" E. The second sector stretches northeastward from the Agadez -

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Actually the Algeria - Niger boundary extends eastward from the Mali tripoint as a continuation of the straight line which forms the adjoining sector of the Algeria Mali boundary.

Tamanrasset road to a point at about 20° 51' N. and 7° 27' E. on the track or trail two miles north of In Azaoua. The remaining sector extends from north of In Azaoua to the Libya tripoint at 23° 30' 54.0" N. and 11° 59' 54.6" E. as determined by an astronomical point.

#### MAP APPENDIX

- 1. Republique du Niger: Scale 1:200,000 published 1967 by Institut Geographique National (French). Sheets (W to E): NE-31-XXIII and NE-31-XXIV (I-n-Guezzam).
- 2. Carte Aeronautique: Scale 1:1,000,000, published 1960 3 by Institut Geographique National (French). Sheets (W to E): 2661 (Month in Rabe), 2662 (Air), 2571 (Mont Serkout).

This International Boundary Study is one of a series of specific boundary papers prepared by the Geographer, Office of the Geographer, Directorate for Functional Research, Bureau of Intelligence and Research, Department of State, in accordance with provisions of Bureau of the Budget Circular No. A-16.

Government agencies may obtain additional information and copies of the study by calling the Geographer, Room 8744, Department of State, Washington, D.C. 20520 (Telephone: 63-22021 or 63-22022).