### IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

#### IN RE:

# AMENDMENTS TO FLORIDA RULES OF CRIMINAL<br/>PROCEDURE 3.851, 3.852, AND 3.993CASE NO. SC96646

# <u>COMMENTS OF THE</u> <u>RULES OF JUDICIAL ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE</u> <u>OF THE FLORIDA BAR</u>

Scott J. Silverman, Chair of the Rules of Judicial Administration Committee, and John F. Harkness, Jr., Executive Director, The Florida Bar, file these comments in the above styled case.

The Rules of Judicial Administration Committee was invited to comment on the proposed changes to the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, specifically to respond to the substance and proper placement of a proposed amendment concerning real-time transcription in capital cases. Having considered the matter, the consensus of the Committee is that because the proposed amendment concerning real-time transcription is tailored, in the form presented, solely to limited circumstances in criminal cases, the proposed rule should be placed in the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, not in the Rules of Judicial Administration.

Further, the Committee could consider requiring real-time reporting capabilities as an issue of general application, but that matter will require some study and consideration, and the Committee does not view such study as within the purview of the Court's request in these proceedings.

SCOTT J. SILVERMAN Florida Bar No. 015700 Chair, Rules of Judicial Administration Committee 1351 NW 12 Street, Suite 513 Miami, FL 33125-1629 (305) 548-5613 JOHN F. HARKNESS, JR. Florida Bar No. 123390 Executive Director, The Florida Bar 650 Apalachee Parkway Tallahassee, FL 32399-2300 (850) 561-5600

## **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing has been provided by mail to the following by U.S. mail on May 30, 2000.

Stan R. Morris Honorable Philip J. Padovano Honorable O. H. Eaton, Jr. Jerome C. Latimer Robert A. Butterworth Richard B. Martell Carolyn M. Snurkowski Neal A. Dupree Todd G. Scher Gregory C. Smith Andrew Thomas Timothy P. Schardl Mark E. Olive Bennett H. Brummer Christina A. Spaulding Nancy A. Daniels W. C. McLain Michael J. Minerva Chet Kaufman **Richard Jorandby** Gary Caldwell Stephen Krosschell Honorable Tom Feeney Honorable Johnnie B. Byrd, Jr. Honorable John Dudley Goodlette

SCOTT J. SILVERMAN