June 7, 2000

Via Hand Delivery

The Honorable Thomas D. Hall Clerk of the Court Florida Supreme Court 500 South Duval Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-1926

Re: Correction to Comments of Governor Jeb Bush Regarding Proposed Amendments to Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure 3.851, 3.852 and 3.993

Dear Mr. Hall:

In a letter submitted to this Court on June 1, 2000, the undersigned counsel made reference on pages five and six to several cases for which oral argument had not been scheduled in apparent derogation of Court policy. Those references were made in good faith based upon information supplied by the Attorney General's Office.

We have since been notified that oral argument has been scheduled and held in each of these cases, although it appears no decision has been rendered in three of the cases within the 180-day time limit established by Rule 2.085(d)(2), Fla. R. Jud. Admin. We sincerely regret the error, and write to clarify the record before the Court. The error does not, however, detract in any way from the central claim of the June 1, 2000 letter – namely, that the Proposed Amendments will not meaningfully reduce delay in capital cases, and should be rejected as having no definitive time limits, no accountability and no enforcement mechanism.

Sincerely,

Frank R. Jimenez Acting General Counsel to Governor Bush

Reginald J. Brown Deputy General Counsel

Martin P. McDonnell Assistant General Counsel (Counsel of Record)

Executive Office of the Governor 209 The Capitol Tallahassee, Florida 32399 (850) 488-3494

Hon. Stanley R. Morris, Judge cc: Hon. Philip J. Padovano, Judge Hon. John P. Kuder, Chief Judge Hon. Charles J. Kahn, Jr., Judge Hon. Susan F. Schaeffer, Chief Judge Hon. Scott Jay Silverman, Judge Hon. Joseph P. Farina, Chief Judge Hon. O. H. Eaton, Jr., Judge Hon. Belvin Perry, Judge Hon. Robert A. Butterworth Hon. John Dudley Goodlette Hon. Bennett H. Brummer Hon. Nancy A. Daniels Hon. Richard Jorandby Hon. J. Marion Moorman Hon. James B. Gibson John A. Boggs Billy Jack Hendrix W. C. McLain Michael J. Minerva Chet Kaufman Gary Caldwell Stephen Krosschell Thomas Charles Feeney, III Johnnie B. Byrd, Jr. Gregory C. Smith Andrew Thomas Timothy P. Schardl Mark E. Olive Christina A. Spaulding Todd G. Scher John W. Moser Arthur I. Jacobs Richard B. Martell Carolyn Snurkowski Neal A. Dupree Jerome C. Latimer John F. Harkness, Jr. Richard B. Greene Larry B. Henderson Michael Pearce Dodson Elliot C. Metcalfe, Jr.