IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO FLORIDA SMALL CLAIMS RULE 7.090

CASE NO. SC 10-1227

RESPONSE OF THE TWENTIETH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT TO THIS COURT'S ORDER OF JULY 1. 2010

The Twentieth Judicial Circuit joins the Sixth Circuit in supporting a change to Rule 7.090, Small Claims Rules, to read:

The pretrial conference may be managed by non judicial personnel employed by or under contract with the court. Non judicial personnel must be subject to direct oversight by the court. A judge must be available to hear any motions or resolve any legal issues.

The foregoing change would be in lieu of the one presently being considered by this court, submitted by the Florida Bar.

The Twentieth Circuit is comprised of five counties: Lee, Collier, Charlotte, Hendry and Glades. Lee County is Florida's 10' most populous, while Glades County is ranked 64. Lee County is served by 19 circuit judges and 8 county judges; by contrast, Hendry County and Glades County share a single circuit judge and each has but one county judge. To impose the identical rigid staffing requirement upon the Glades County Court as is required in the Lee County Court would hinder rather than enhance the administration of justice. Florida is blessed with geographic diversity, and each one of our county courts has adopted small claims procedures to address its particular needs. The Small Claims Rules should encourage that flexibility to meet the people's needs in the People's Court.

Respectfully Submitted G. Keith Cary, Chief Judge Twentieth Judicial Circuit Lee County Justice Center 1700 Monroe Street Ft. Myers, F133901

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 1/ day of ______, 2010, a true and correct copy of the foregoing Response of the Twenty Judicial Circuit to This Court's Order of July 2, 2010 has been furnished by U.S. Mail to the individuals on the attached service list.

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Pursuant to Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.100(1), I certify that this computer-generated response is prepared in Times New Roman 14-point font and complies with the Rule's font requirements.

SERVICE LIST

The Honorable Robert W. Lee Broward County Courthouse 201 S.E. 6th Street, Suite 331 Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301-3372

Jack Harkness, Jr. Executive Director, The Florida Bar 651 E. Jefferson Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-6584

Michele A. Cavallaro Chair, Small Claims Rules Committee 6600 N. Andrews Avenue, Suite 300 Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33309-2189

Krys Godwin 651 E: Jefferson Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-6584

Laura Rush
Chair, Commission on Trial Court Performance and Accountability Office of State Courts
Administrator
500 South Duval Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-6556

The Honorable Robert B. Bennett, Jr. 2002 Ringling Boulevard, Floor 8 Sarasota, Florida 34237-7002

The Honorable Wayne Miller President, Conference of County Court Judges of Florida Monroe County Courthouse Annex 500 Whitehead Street, Floor 1 Key West, Florida 33040-6581